

Bountiful Trails Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes Thursday, May 28, 2020 5:00 p.m.

Present: BTAC Committee Members – Jesse Bell, Brad Hansen, Bret Hutchings, Bob Larsen, Melanie Larsen, Eric Rasmussen, Clint Watson; City Staff – Francisco Astorga, Curtis Poole Excused: City Staff – Brock Hill

1. Welcome and Introductions

Mr. Poole opened the meeting and members were asked to give brief statements introducing themselves and what skills they bring to the committee.

2. Policies and Procedures Overview

Mr. Poole reviewed the Policies and Procedures document and provided context for the goals and purpose of the committee.

3. Trails Master Plan Overview

Mr. Astorga and Mr. Poole provided an overview of the adopted Trails Master Plan and areas of focus for the committee.

4. Selection of Chair and Vice-Chair

Mr. Larsen was nominated unanimously by the committee to serve as Chairman of the committee for a term of two years. Mr. Watson was nominated unanimously to serve as Vice Chairman of the committee for a term of two years.

5. Assignments and Responsibilities

The following assignments and responsibilities were assigned to the committee by assignment and member choice; and approved by Chairman Larsen:

Fundraising and Grants – Mr. Larsen and Mr. Watson Public Outreach – Mr. Bell Volunteer Coordinator – Mr. Hansen and Ms. Larsen Trail Mapping – Mr. Rasmussen, Mr. Hutchings and Mr. Bell Trail Design – Mr. Rasmussen and Mr. Bell Social Media – Ms. Larsen Minutes and Recording – City Staff

It was also decided Mr. Poole would coordinate future items for the agenda with Chairman Larsen.

6. Update and Overview of Trails

Mr. Astorga gave an overview of the property purchase in North Canyon for the purpose of fire retention and a future trailhead.

7. Future Meeting Schedule

It was decided by the committee to meet at least monthly and more often when needs required. The next meeting was scheduled for June 11, 2020 at 5:00. A standing invitation to Zinnia Wilson, from the Forest Service, and Jeff Oyler, from Davis County, would be given by City Staff.