REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR TRAFFIC PLEAS IN ABEYANCE (TRAFFIC SCHOOL) Second District Court-Bountiful City

All traffic violations occurring within Bountiful City and resulting in a traffic citation must be addressed with the Second District Court in Bountiful City, located at 805 S. Main Street, Bountiful, Utah 84010.

If you receive a traffic citation, you may be eligible for a Plea in Abeyance (traffic school). A Plea in Abeyance (traffic school) is NOT an option if you: 1) had a traffic conviction in the last three years; 2) were cited for speeding in a school zone; 3) were cited for driving on a suspended or revoked driver's license; or 4) were cited for driving without insurance.

Before you pay your traffic citation, please contact the prosecutor to determine if you qualify for a Plea in Abeyance (traffic school). If you pay your citation before entering into a Plea in Abeyance Agreement you will not be able to qualify for a Plea in Abeyance (traffic school). If the prosecutor has approved you for a Plea in Abeyance, you must do the following:

- 1- Sign the Plea in Abeyance Agreement, where in you plead guilty or no contest to the traffic citation.
- 2- Pay the Court the traffic citation (ticket) fee set by the Bail Schedule.
- 3- Attend traffic school within 90 days of entering the Plea in Abeyance Agreement. Traffic School costs \$50 (this is in addition to paying the ticket). Traffic School is held the third Thursday of the month at the Bountiful City Police Department, located at 805 S. Main Street, Bountiful, Utah 84010, from 7:00 to 9:00 pm. You must register and pay for Traffic School at the Record's Office of the Police Department before attending the class. You only need to attend one session. During the COVID19 Pandemic Traffic School will be conducted on-line.
- 4- Not have any violations of federal, state or local laws, including minor traffic violations, for one year (12 months) after the date of the Plea in Abeyance Agreement.

You should keep a copy of the Plea in Abeyance Agreement for your records, as well as your receipt for payment of traffic school. You will need to present your receipt and a picture ID to be admitted into traffic school at the Bountiful City Police Department. Once you complete all the conditions of the Plea in Abeyance, the City will dismiss your traffic citation. If you fail to abide by the conditions of the Plea in Abeyance, the Court will schedule a hearing to address entering the conviction for the traffic violation.

If you do NOT qualify for a Plea in Abeyance (Traffic School) you have two options: 1) pay the citation (ticket) or 2) contest the charge(s) on your citation. You may pay the citation in-person at the Clerk's Office of the Second District Court in Bountiful City, on-line at www.utcourts.gov/epayment or via phone by calling 801-397-7000. ALL FEES, INCLUDING TRAFFIC SCHOOL FEES, ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

To contest the charge(s) you must contact the Court and request a court date. During your court appearance you may request a bench trial; a trial date will be set by the Judge at that time. Failure to appear at a scheduled court date, or to respond to a traffic citation within 14 days may result in additional fines, an arrest warrant and suspension of your driver's license. You must immediately notify the Court of any change of address or phone number.

- **On-line traffic school is offered by at the discretion of the prosecutor for special circumstances. If you are allowed to do traffic school on-line you will need to contact the Prosecutor's Office to obtain the link and authorization code for on-line traffic school. The cost for online traffic school is an additional \$50.
- **Persons who are disabled as defined by the Americans With Disabilities Act may request an interpreter by contacting the Bountiful City Police Records Office at 801-298-6000.

If you have any questions, please contact the Bountiful City Prosecutor's Office at 801-298-6145.